The Joys of Cycling

Posted on Updated on

I woke up this morning full of cycling zeal.

Picture the scene: 7am, hazy Scottish weather outside, bleary eyes trying to fathom who/what/where I am. However, somewhere just below the surface there’s this clear and palpable sense of joy that bicycles exist and that at some point later in the day I would get to ride one. It’s quite bizarre. Is this infatuation?

With Critical Mass rides happening all over the world tomorrow, perhaps I am just tapping into the collective excitement of the global cycling community… We’ve certainly got a big one planned for Edinburgh this month!

All I know is, I can relate to the kid in this picture:

critical fun
I loved riding a bike as a child, and of all the things that have changed as I’ve grown up, cycling is one of the few that has remained relatively pure. These days I ride with the traffic and in the rain, so it isn’t all fun and games like it used to be, but on those brief and glorious occasions when I find myself on a safe and car-free section of road, this is where I find happiness (even if it’s raining).

Anyway, this tune from Anthony’s Putsch really captures that special feeling, so I wanted to share it with you. Enjoy!

 

Given that one of my earliest memories is of being strapped into a child’s seat on my dad’s bike as he crashed spectacularly into a drainage ditch, it really is quite remarkable that I have such positive associations of cycling from my childhood. Do you have any funny/scary/happy memories from your childhood cycling experiences? I’d love to hear them, so don’t hesitate to share in the comments 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Joys of Cycling

    Walton, J (OSRG Curator) said:
    May 29, 2014 at 4:27 pm

    Very nice. I hope you had a good ride. The weather has been foul all week – just starting to clear up today.I still haven’t received any emails from the vicar or his wife but will chase them up on Monday to find out what the archdeacon said about the let.

    ________________________________

      waltonharry responded:
      May 29, 2014 at 4:28 pm

      Thanks mum, but you don’t need to tell me about this on my blog. Just send me an email or something. You know, like a normal person might do…

        peterj said:
        May 29, 2014 at 6:53 pm

        You’ve got to laugh..

Leave a Reply

